Last updateThu, 01 Aug 2013 4pm

Back You are here: Home News Yacht Racing News National Sailing Hall of Fame to Induct Members at Southern Yacht Club

National Sailing Hall of Fame to Induct Members at Southern Yacht Club

15octber2012sailinghalloffame15 October, 2012, San Diego: The National Sailing Hall of Fame was inaugurated last year and its first ceremony was held in San Diego. It is a non-profit educational institution dedicated to preserving the history of sailing and its impact on the American culture; its mission is inspiring and encouraging sailing development and providing a landmark for sailing enthusiasts.

This year, nine other sailing outstanding figures will be inducted in a ceremony that will take place on Oct. 14 at the Southern Yacht Club. Betsy Alison, who is the current coach for the U.S. Paralympic sailing team, and was voted Rolex Yachtswoman of the Year a record five times is very excited about the event, she expects it to be a very enjoyable celebration to spend with friends.

The Southern Yacht Club is a very appropriate place for the 2012 induction ceremony to be celebrated. The club is known to make justice to the ceremony’s theme which is overcoming ad adversity;  it burned down during Hurricane Katrina in 2005 and Isaac left a mark on it earlier this year, yet it stands strong.

This year’s inductees are very diverse because of the nature of their contributions to sailing:

Stanley K. Honey was the co-founded of Sportvision Inc., the leading developer of live-tracking enhancements for sports TV broadcasts.

Bruce Kirby, newspaperman and former editor of Yacht Racing (predecessor to Sailing World), Bruce Kirby is best known for designing the Laser.

John Kostecki won ten world champion titles in different sailing classes, beginning with the Sunfish World Championships in 1982.

Mark J. Reynolds is an American Star class sailor and Olympic champion. He has sailed Stars since age four, training with his father James Reynolds (1971 World Champion).

Peter Barrett was the first of North’s Tigers, President of North Sails from 1970 to 1974.
He won a silver medal at in the 1964 Olympics, racing in Finn class.

Rovert Bavier, Jr., was President of US Sailing, and took the organization to a new level of international participation. He set a high standard of service to the sport.

Gregg Bemis, Harvard Class of ’30, is one of the fathers of the modern day racing rules.

Roderick "Rod" Stephens, Jr. was one of American's best known sailors. In 1933 he became Associate Designer, later promoted to President, of Sparkman & Stephens naval architecture and yacht design firm.

John Cox Stevens was a prime mover behind the America Syndicate in 1851, founder and first commodore of the New York Yacht Club, commissioned a catamaran in 1820.

Congratulations to all inductees!